Fashion Dilemma / Which shoes to wear with flares?

flares_1

Kate Moss flares_2 flares_3

With the 70’s trend for SS15 becoming even more prevalent, flared jeans have been on my mind for the last couple of months. I’m still looking for the perfect pair of flared jeans though I may have them, as I bought a new pair recently but they’re in the process of being shortened, as they’re about 10 inches too long. Whilst having them measured, I did wonder, however,  which shoes to wear with them and became totally confused, which, when it comes to getting dressed, doesn’t often happen. I don’t mean that in an arrogant sense, I just mean I generally know what I want to wear and its not too tricky to realise what works and what doesn’t (though of course, thats the whole point of fashion and style, its so subjective, not one rule can apply to two different people so you may disagree with my choices).

It seems Lady Beckham and Queen Moss reign the world of flares – they effortlessly, of course, carry off this look with perfection, providing us with inspiration, but more importantly, what shoe choices do we have with flares. I know. Pressing questions. Newsnight-worthy, in fact. Obvs I’m joking but I have to say that to make you understand that I have a greater understanding of the world, but actually, it is important to me, because I don’t want to look like a wally or a bad-90’s throwback.

So what should you wear? Well. You can wear what you like. But for it to look good, requires a little refined style. The obvious choice is wedges. Tan wedges. But these aren’t so easy to come by in the winter months. Could you wear stiletto heels? Or heeled sandals? I guess its hard to rule out any particular style of shoe until you try them on, so here’s what I’m thinking. I just need to get myself on a serious shopping expedition.

Suede Wedges  – Zara / Leather Court Shoes – Zara / Carvela Wedges – Kurt Geiger/ Asphalt Leather Pointy Shoes – Jimmy Choo

Leave a Comment

