Hair Undressing

IMG_2049

 

You may have noticed over the last few months the colour of my hair has been gradually been getting lighter and lighter and you may ask why, so I shall explain. I have more grey than I care to acknowledge on a daily basis. Thats not to say I have a huge amount, I just have some, and thats enough for me. And secondly, I have always loved blonde hair but never thought it possible that I could have angelic flaxen locks myself, that is until my hairdresser didn’t even bat an eyelid when I told her what I wanted to do. Being naturally dark, it is an obvious point to make that it takes alot of maintenance to hide the regrowth and my hair grows pretty quickly, so I need it colouring once a month, but for me, this is a small price to pay for having the hair I’ve always wanted #YOLO #sarcasm #idontreallysaythis #honestly

So, let me introduce you to some of my regular hair buddies, one of which seems to be something of a taboo. Changing my hair colour meant I had to change my hair products and also my make up, but thats another story. I started using the John Frieda toning shampoo for blonde hair, which is pearlescent purple since it has added toner (why does no-one talk about this or know this?) which keeps your blonde locks freshly creamy, without the yellowness none of us really want. The deeper the shade of purple, the more toner, so the more effective the product becomes. After trading in the John Frieda shampoo for A Touch of Silver, which is almost indigo in colour, I realised I’d been using the wrong product – this shampoo is far better. As as added bonus, the complementary intensive conditioner is pretty good too.

Only last week, I revisited the infamous John Frieda Frizz Ease, after I gave it up years ago after feeling like it didn’t actually do a lot and it turns out I was wrong. Applied in the shower, once I’m ready to get out, to soaking wet hair, it seems to be the key to soft, shiny curls I’ve been missing.

I’ve been trying to leave my hair to dry naturally, to give it a better chance of recovery after the intensive colouring, however strangely, my hair seems to have become alot more curly lately underneath, which I would embrace if my hair was longer however its not so much of a good look with short hair, so I wear my hair up alot, that is until my hair looks better down when its been air-dried.

Another product I cannot live without (as you can see from the bottle) is Bamboo Kendi Hair Oil, which I bought when I was in Berlin. I usually use a dispensed oil, rather than a spray, but this method of application seems to be more effective (though the next hair oil I’ll be buying with be Bumble & Bumble’s Invisible Oil which I had a tester of recently and loved it, so it definitely needs a second visit).

Finally, Bumble & Bumble’s Texture Hair (Un)Dressing Creme which I don’t seem to have the hang of yet. I think I’m using too much because my hair is left sticky and dry, which I’m pretty sure isn’t right as its supposed to be left looking like it was washed the day before, which is when my hair generally looks better.

Finding products which suit your hair is pretty much trial and error, unless you have Nicky Clarke or Sam McKnight as your BFF’s, providing you with knowledge that takes us amateurs years to find and since I have a new hair colour, which has changed not just the colour of my hair, but also the structure, I’m pretty much back to square one. C’est la vie. Its not really the end of the world, right?

Leave a Comment

