It’s that Issa London dress again.

issa_1

issa_4

issa_2

issa_3
issa_5

Dress – Batwing Kaftan Dress by Issa London from Stanwells / Coat – Romwe – Similar hereicon / Shoes – Reiss – Similar here and hereicon / Earrings – Accessorize – Similar here
icon

As much as I loved the images of this Issa London dress from Stanwells in the British Fashion Awards post last week, they didn’t really do this dress justice, so I thought a dedicated post to this printed silk beauty was essential.  This is exactly as I wore the dress, with this Romwe faux fur coat over the top, which was perfect, because it has three-quarter length sleeves which show the tiny button detailing on the cuffs off beautifully. The fact that this dress has bat wings and a high neckline were the selling points for me – modest yet elegant and intensely feminine, and as much as I’m in love with a minimal neutral pallet of long-lined attire, I’m like a a moth to a flame with graphic prints and primary colours. I stuck with nude shoes with this dress, as although I love mismatching, clashing prints, I didn’t think this would work with this outfit. The tone of the nude Reiss shoes matches up flawlessly with one of the colours of the triangles within the print and doesn’t detract from the dress, and they give enough height to take advantage of the column shape of the skirt. I tried a number of necklaces with the outfit but they caused too much conflict with the neckline, so I decided to wear an elegant pair of Art Deco earrings instead. The one piece I haven’t shown here is the House of Harlow clutch bag I took along, which was kindly loaned to me and returned promptly but you can see it on my Instagram feed. I’ve always been drawn to Issa dresses, along with Jil Sander, Roksanda Ilinicic and Preen to name just a small handful of designers whom I admire greatly, for their colour, their unique prints and the cut of their designs –  they always use unique panelling, with beautiful and clever details allowing the fabrics to drape in a way no one else could quite recreate. Take a look at this Roksanda Ilincic Saunton color-block silk-twill and woven gown to see exactly what I mean. It takes my breath away every time! (and I’m pretty sure its one of the reasons she was the recipient of the British Fashion Awards ‘Red Carpet Award’ this year). Of course, these dresses are dreamy gowns which we can only rub a lantern in the hope of owning for ourselves, but there’s no harm in a little fantasy every now and again….is there?
icon

Don’t forget to enter the Sushilla giveaway –  there are just three simple tasks you must complete, which are only a click away!

1) Follow Sushilla on Twitter – you can link to her Twitter page directly from here ;

2) ‘Like’ Feathers & Frills on Facebook – again you can link directly to my Facebook page here ;

3) Comment on this post, so that we know who you are!

This giveaway ends at midnight GMT on Sunday December 9th 2012, is non-transferable and entrants must have fulfilled all three criteria to be a valid entrant. Any entrants not fulfilling all three criteria will not be included. Winners will be selected at random, using an impartial online number generator and informed by email on Monday December 10th 2012. This giveaway is open to residents within the United Kingdom only.

One thought on “It’s that Issa London dress again.

Leave a Comment

