NYFW // Cushnie et Ochs Ready-To-Wear S/S 2013

Images via Style.com

I don’t know where I’ve been. And I feel thoroughly ashamed that I’d not heard of Cushnie & Ochs until this week and I can’t understand why. Really I can’t. Because look at these amazing pieces of tailoring. I was, and I don’t use this word lightly, flabbergasted.

Cushnie et Ochs, better known to their friends as Michelle Ochs and Carly Cushnie, were inspired by traditional Filipino dress (Ochs is half-Filipino) for their Spring Summer 13 self-financed, made in New York collection, which naturally led to the colours of remote tropical islands, such as mango, aqua and plenty of white, a refreshing lively contrast to the muted pastels we’ve seen this year.

Some reviewers have used the word ‘body-con’ to describe Cushnie et Ochs work, but I wouldn’t use that phrase. I think that description should only be used to describe Herve Leger dresses, since this is where it originated from. Herve Leger dresses are bandage-style, ie bandage width sections of super-elasticated fabric, wrapped around the body to create the ultimate silhouette. Cushnie et Ochs dresses give the form a silhouette but in a looser, more tasteful way. What I’m trying to say is less is more. A dress does not need to be skin-tight to be flattering and these dresses are cut in a such an intriguing manner, they enhance the female form with sophistication and style.

The Cushnie et Ochs woman is confident, adventurous and mysterious, she is not afraid to take risks or stand out from the crowd and, honestly speaking, I want to be her friend.

To view an interview of Cushnie et Ochs by Kate Bosworth, click below- its definitely worth a watch.

Leave a Comment

