Vogue’s Fashion Night Out 2012

Hersheson’s Blow Dry Bus ; Stella McCartneys A/W 12 Collection ; Daisy Lowe in Jimmy Choo.

Amazing dressage for the feet, soft clutches encased in chains and autumnal bright hydrangeas made Jimmy Choo a happy place to spend an evening.

Male models welcoming customers into LK Bennett ; The Jo Malone Man with his wheelbarrow in tow ; myself, Hannah of Belle & Bunty and Briony of A Girl A Style

Stella McCartney’s shop was sheer heaven ; more amazing Jimmy Choo shoes, featuring super-flattering mesh panels and Jade Williams aka Sunday Girl, smiling nicely for a snap of her on the decks.

Last night was Vogue’s Fashion Night Out, a global collaboration of designer and high street clothing shops, celebrating fashion and an initiation to get people out on the streets to gain confidence in the retail world again by SHOPPING. I know. I need not alot of encouragement either. I wasn’t sure what to expect and I’m glad I had no preconceptions because it was incredible. The streets were alive with a happy, friendly atmosphere. On every corner, there was some kind of musical or dance event going on. Outside Hermes, there was a mobile stage of swing dancers, where the stage backdrop were row after row of beautiful Hermes scarves. Outside Kenzo, were some amazing bendy ladies hula-hooping all night long and on a main stage in the middle of Bond Street (which had been pedestrianised for the entire evening) was Jess Mills singing powerfully and quite hauntingly actually.

My plan for the night was Rockport, on South Molton Street, LK Bennett on Brook Street, Benetton/Sisley on Regent Street then Jimmy Choo on New Bond Street. Unfortunately I couldn’t make it to Benetton in the end, as I got a little way laid meeting up with new friends and fellow bloggers Anna of South Molton Street Style, Briony of A Girl A Style, Rhian of The Hart Blog, Helen of The It Guide and Hannah (or Bunty) of Belle & Bunty at a Jimmy Choo event. Briony was guest tweeting and Instagramming all night on behalf of Jimmy Choo and she did an amazing job, considering how busy it was. Oh, and when Daisy Lowe turned up and had her photo taken with B, it proved just how professional she was…too cool for school.

First stop after getting off the tube at Bond Street, I wandered down South Molton Street to see what was happening. It was so busy…every woman from London and the surrounding areas of Cornwall were there. Well, that’s how it felt. I went to seek out Rockport, where as a follower of them on Twitter, knew they had a ‘secret word’ which, when announced to shop staff, entitled you to be in with a chance of winning a pair of their shoes. And incredibly, I did. I won! You can see my choice of shoe in tomorrows blog post. Afterwards, I wandered down to LK Bennett where the beautiful and talented Jade Williams of Sunday Girl was playing DJ for the night. I met up with some of the ladies who work there (who, by the way, were so friendly and kind-its worth a stop by their store on South Molton Street just for a chat with them) and then chatted a little with Jade (kind of surreal as she’s on my inspiration wall in my office from an editorial in InStyle Magazine last year) – she was so friendly and sweet which made me even more happy to be out during Fashion Night Out. Yes. I’m easily pleased.

After leaving LK Bennett, I bumped into a man with a wheelbarrow who was promoting Jo Malone’s new fragrance Blackberry & Bay, which smells dee-licious! (Mum – if you’re reading this – its my birthday soon – nudge nudge) I liked the fact he looked like a farmer in the middle of Mayfair, with a wheelbarrow full of blackberries. I met up with Anna before heading over to Jimmy Choo where we drank pink cocktails, had our eardrums annihilated by music for the youth, had our pictures snapped in their photobooth area and generally dribbled over sparkly tall shoes. After leaving Jimmy Choo, Briony was off duty, so along with Hannah (Belle & Bunty) and Jimmy Choo press staff, we headed over to Stella McCartney for a few mojitos, face-spotting and more dreaming over their new A/W 12 collection which was on show in store. Frankly, it was the perfect girls night out. Shoes, cocktails, good company, fashion and more cocktails…I couldn’t think of anything more I would have wanted in one evening.

Thank you Vogue for an amazing celebration of fashion in London, New York, Sydney, Milan….and all the other cities involved on the same day…I’m already looking forward to next years event.

Leave a Comment

