When I’m in a beauty rut….I visit Into The Gloss & Lisa Eldridge

Confession time. I’ve been a in a beauty rut lately. One day, I looked in the mirror and thought what I was doing, the same old routine I’ve been doing for years, isn’t working anymore. I don’t know what it is, but something needed to change. I want to go and see someone on a beauty counter to ask for their advise, but I’ve developed a phobia after an awful experience at the Bobbi Brown counter before I got married. I went along for advise and came away £100 worse off, looking like a doll and none the wiser. How can it be that someone who works on a beauty counter can make such a fatal sales error? They must be trained well, they’re immersed in beauty products day in, day out, and always look immaculate themselves. I considered going to the Mac counter but that brought me back to my original quandry. Am I too old? I’m probably not. I don’t have bad skin, I don’t have too many wrinkles yet, but feel lost. Totally lost. Honestly, I’m not sure I should say this, but I don’t really like the way I look. I don’t know when or how or why this happened but unfortunately somewhere along the line, it did. I’m sure it happens to alot of us, because we’re all human, with the same emotions and the same feelings but it doesn’t make me feel any better. And before you start judging me, I know its not important. I know its not famine, or poverty or any type of global crisis. I’m fully capable of putting things in perspective, but that doesn’t make me feel any better either. And I’m not looking for reassurance that I’m a wally for feeling this way, I just wanted to be honest with you.

Right, so you get the picture as to where I am at the moment. Next step – how to turn this around. First step – visit an eyelash lady, which is exactly what I did today. Nothing makes you feel better than 3 coats of mascara and an eyelash curler. There is something lovely about eyelashes with volume, whether made up or natural. My eyelashes are long, but they are straight and slightly angled downwards. Eyelash curlers just don’t cut it. So, I went to see a lady today who is going to turn me into Cinderella next week, by applying semi-permanent individual eyelashes which should last between 4-6 weeks before being in-filled (extras added and tidied up). She applied some to the outer corners of my eyes today, to check I’m not allergic to the glue, which by the way, is applied on the actual lash. Even with 4/5 lashes on the edge of each eye I can see the potential. They have a lovely slight curl in them, they’re natural looking and already open up the eye. I feel by this time next week, I will no longer be in my beauty rut, or at least, I’ll be on my way out of it.

Just by chance, I’ve just watched a video on my absolute favourite beauty website, Into The Gloss, about applying individual clump eyelashes. You can watch it here if you’d like to, its compelling viewing, believe me. Any ‘The Hills’ lovers out there will know Emily from New York, the cut-throat, super-efficient, diamond girl working for Teen Vogue (I think) in the big city. Emily is the wondrous being behind Into The Gloss, which is a website about beauty tips, interviews with models, general beautiful people off the street, magazine editors….you get the picture. I could sit and read and watch videos on this site all day long. One of my favourite recent videos is this one about Daphne, a beautiful French lady, who tells us about her beauty routine. Daphne comes across as down-to-earth, full of amazing stories and the very fact that she’s French is enough for me to adore her, because I love French people. A huge generalization, but its true.

Another unbelievably brilliant website is Lisa Eldridge’s tutorial website. I believe Lisa Eldridge is one of the best make-up artists around. Her portfolio speaks for itself and I think one of the reasons I love her work so much is because I remember her name growing up. She’s been in the industry over twenty years and I remember reading about her, seeing her name around, so feel like I’ve grown up with her around. Anything, literally, anything you need to know about anything beauty-based, you will find your answer on her site and the fact that she does such incredible facial artistry on for the best magazines, the best fashion shows, the best actresses means its easy to trust every single word she says. That’s certainly how I feel anyway. Don’t be put off by how beautiful she is, I swear that bright white background and bright lighting would make us all look amazingly flawless. Have a dig around, see what you can find, what inspires you and try it at home. I have, and I’ve definitely learnt a thing or two. She inspires you to try new things, to take care of your skin, to try new products and for me, in my rut, could be the final piece of the jigsaw to the end of this silly old rut I’ve become wedged in. There’s hope for me yet, so thanks Emily and thanks Lisa. I owe you.

One thought on “When I’m in a beauty rut….I visit Into The Gloss & Lisa Eldridge

  1. Your post was great – perfect timing for me as I’m also going through a beauty rut!! I’ve been thinking of updating my makeup and Lisa Eldridge’s blog is fantastic inspiration…However, I shall be spending a small fortune now! Hope it’s worth it…because I’m worth it. 😉 x

Leave a Comment

