Australian Fashion Week : Toni Maticevski, Ellery & Zimmermann

The internet is an incredible tool upon which I rely heavily. I can’t give up books, I adore books however the internet allows us to read about all sorts of things we probably wouldn’t read about if it wasn’t there. If I have courgettes in the fridge, I don’t browse through ten recipe books to see which recipes use the ingredient. Instead, I will go to Google and type in ‘courgette recipes’ which is far quicker and far easier. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing more I love than planning a week of meals using a new recipe book so I can order my shopping online (another ridiculously brilliant perk of the web which I find it hard to do without). The other amazing thing about the internet is reading about fashion in other parts of the world. Of course that’s quite tricky in Asia, due the language barrier, however not so tricky and easily addictive is Australian fashion, more specifically Australian Fashion Week S/S 12/13. I found it quite taxing on my brain to get my head around which season they were showing, since our Australian neighbours are currently in their Autumn, therefore their fashion week two weeks ago was for their Spring/Summer, which obviously is 2012 and 2013, rather than just 2013. Confusing, I know.

I’ve become slightly obsessed with Australian fashion and this all happened due to Instagram. It would seem many of the people I follow on Instagram were at Australian Fashion Week, and due to my other addiction to this amazing little app on my iPhone, which bears many similarities to the wardrobe in Narnia, in that its a magic portal into another world, I could gaze longingly at Australian fashion on the catwalk. Dig a little deeper on the internet, and we have the beautiful worlds of Ellery, Zimmermann and Toni Maticevski.

Toni Maticevski at Mercedes-Benz Australian Fashion Week Spring/Summer 2012/13

Images via Vogue Australia

Ellery at Mercedes-Benz Australian Fashion Week Spring/Summer 2012/13

Images via Vogue Australia

Backstage at Zimmermann at Mercedes-Benz Australian Fashion Week Spring/Summer 2011/12

Images via Vogue Australia

From the coverage of Australian Fashion Week this year, I’m not sure if its just me, but it felt like Australian fashion was gaining quite a following and I wouldn’t be surprised if we read more about it in this country over the next few years. If we don’t, I think that would be tragic, because from these amazingly talented designers, they clearly have a huge amount to offer and deserve alot more global recognition and I will definitely do my best to follow Australian fashion more than I have in the past.

Leave a Comment

