Style Crush : Helmut Lang

As much as I love vibrant, bold prints such as Marni and Diane Von Furstenberg, I also love the simplicity of angular, structured lines by designers such as Armani, Calvin Klein and Helmut Lang. Although simple, they use complex, luxurious fabrics which allow the drapery to be so light and elegant. I love the non-fussiness and the masculinity which complements the feminine tailoring with an alluring stylishness. Within my comfort zone, I am consistently drawn to the same designers meaning this style holds an instinctive magnetism for me.

Helmut Lang is one of those designers. Lately, I have become a little obsessed with their current and F/W 2012 collections. The current S/S 2012 collection is full of my favourite colours. Taupe, ivory and black. Honestly, I’m not sure any blend of colours could be more sophisticated. The A/W 2012 collection sticks with this trademark palette, but throws in a beautiful cocktail of winey, oxblood reds, perfect for Autumn.

In terms of high-street similarities to Helmut Lang, personally, I would say that only Zara, in previous years, have echoed the style, with neutral colours and simple tailoring with small details and I would guess that may be due to the style of this brand attracting a very small percentage of  the fashion market, which for me, is exactly why I love it.

Top line from left to right :

Element Shirt $295 ; Supple Leather Jacket $1390 ; Pebble Silk Dress $495

Second line from left to right:

Micro Modal Bra $90 ; Stretch Plonge Leather Trousers $920 ; Cusp Blazer $655

Leave a Comment

