Jane How : Super-Stylist

I’d like to let you into a little secret, as long as you promise not to tell anyone, ok? I don’t tell many people this but my dream job would be to work as a stylist. It has been a dream for a very long time. I’m not trained in styling, I’ve never seen a stylist at work, but I hold onto hope. I will never say never to this dream. My passion for styling was even more intensified after reading the feature ‘Rave New World’ in Vogue UK May 2012.

Styling by Jane How, Photography by Alaisdair McLellan

First, it was the Stussy sweatshirt worn with a pair of Mary Katrantzou floral trousers. Then it was the sharks tooth necklace slung across a slender decollete. The Isabel Marant tie-dye jeans almost sent me over the edge, but it was the Isabel Marant ripped denim shorts, Denim Levi Espadrilles, Balmain T-Shirt and vintage bobble hat which was the final nail in the coffin. It’s not often I open a magazine time and time and time again..but with this editorial, I’m pretty much mesmerised. And its all down to Jane How, stylist, contributing editor to i-D Magazine, V, W & Vogue Paris and Creative Director at Hussein Chalayan. I tweeted about this editorial, saying how I thought it was styling genius to put a Stussy sweatshirt together with a pair of Mary Katrantzou trousers. And guess who tweeted me back? Mary Katrantzou herself, modestly giving all credit to Jane How. It was that moment I started thinking about relationships between designers, stylists and of course, even more importantly, the photographer. 

Jane How for H&M S/S 2011

When I looked further into Jane How’s past editorials, she works with a core number of photographers, these being Mario Sorrenti, Alaisdair McLellan, Benjamin Alexander Huseby and Solve Sundsbo, but mostly Mario Sorrenti & Alaisdair McLellan. This makes total sense – they’re all at the top of their game, and clearly have a seamless understanding of each other creatively. 

Styling for Vogue Paris ‘L’ete 2011’ by Jane How, Emmanuelle Alt & Carine Roitfeld.

For the editorial above, it was fantasy-styling, involving three highly respected women within their industry – Emmanuelle Alt, Carine Roitfeld and Jane How. To have been an assistant stylist on this shoot…

 

This beautiful fragrance launched recently by Chloe also received the golden touch of Jane How. 

As much as Jane How styles the slick, groomed look so beautifully, I think her strength and maybe natural style inclination is the surf-chic tomboy look, which is no wonder she works so well with Isabel Marant, who shares this relaxed style.

For the final image, there weren’t any clothes involved, literally. Yet still, she styles some of the top models in the world for one of the most infamous calendars in the world. The Pirelli Calendar.

Saskia De Brauw, Pirelli Calendar 2012 styled by Jane How

 All images via Streeters

2 thoughts on “Jane How : Super-Stylist

  1. Hi, I’ve just read this post. I can see that this is now a two-year old post and you may have began a career in styling or have a more in depth knowledge into styling now, but I thought I’d like some info with you anyway..

    Jane How is one of ten stylists who established the role of a stylist whilst revolutionising fashion styling from the late 80s onwards.

    How is a conceptual stylist and abides by the rule “never commit to one style”. She re-invents every shoot she works on.

    She sources lots of inspiration from art galleries, pubs and even lingerie stores.

    She’s been the creative director for Hussein Chalayan. She’s style runways and campaigns for Christian Dior and Martin Margiela, she also dabbles in hair styling.

    I said earlier one of ten, the remaining nine would be Melanie Ward, Alister Mackie, Jonathon Kay, Judy Blame, Nancy Rohde, Katy England, Katie Grand, Venetia Scott and Camille Bidaut-Waddington. I’m sure your acquainted but if not they’re all incredible in their own right.

    I really admire your aspiration to be a stylist, go for it.

Leave a Comment

