Make Your Own Body Scrubs.

I’m not normally a fan of homemade beauty products. I’m not sure if its just plain laziness or lack of belief that something you make yourself at home could be better than something you could buy from a shop. These scrubs have proved me wrong. 

The first one is a Lemon Scrub which I found on Lauren Conrad’s Kitchen Beautician website and here is the recipe:

Ingredients :

5 tbsps Sea Salt

1 tbsp Olive Oil

1 Lemon

What You Need To Do:

Find a jar to store the mixture in, which has a screw top, and make sure it is totally clean. Mix the olive oil and the salt together, so that the salt becomes coated in the oil. Its a clever trick which will prevent the grains of salt from dissolving in the mixture. Cut the lemon in half and squeeze the juice from both halves into the salt and oil solution. Give it a good mix and then it’s ready to use, it’s that simple. Beware! The salt is pretty rough, so take it easy when applying the scrub for the first time. You may also find that you want to change the quantities to suit you. 

I love this scrub. Its fresh, it stores well after months (I made mine last summer and I still have some left in the jar), it makes a good quantity, it’s so effective, its cheap and its good for you! 

The second scrub I’ve also made before is a Cocoa Body Scrub, which I would also highly recommend.

Ingredients:

3 tbsp Cocoa Powder. I used Green & Blacks.

1 cup of Brown Sugar

Olive Oil

What You Need To Do:

Again, find a jar to store the mixture in, which has a screw top, and make sure it is totally clean. Mix together the cocoa powder and the brown sugar, until these two ingredients are well mixed together.

Add the olive oil slowly. Stir the mixture as you pour the oil. Pour enough oil until you are happy with the consistency. I liked my mixture quite thick, so used less oil. The mixture is now ready, it’s that easy. In the jar, this keeps for months, in the shower, or in the fridge. The oil acts like a preservative.

This scrub is like applying a very dark fake tan, but don’t worry. It washes off straight away, of course. 

Both these scrubs are very effective – I think the key ingredient is the olive oil, for making your skin so soft, but of course, it wouldn’t be a scrub without the salt or sugar. Give it a whirl, I think you might like it.

Leave a Comment

