Twenty Years of Kate Moss

I saw a photo of Kate Moss a couple of weeks ago, from 1991 and honestly, I think I drew breath. She was and still is so uniquely beautiful and, for me, and probably for many people of a similar age to me, she represents the whole decade of the 1990’s. I remember vividly the Calvin Klein ads her career was launched from. They were plastered all over my bedroom. She was 18 when she modelled for Calvin Klein, which means I was 14….

All the images below were taken of Kate Moss in 1992….

From left to right : Kate Moss in 1992 – photographer unknown ; Kate Moss for Vogue Italia in 1992 shot by Arthur Elgort ; Kate Moss in 1992 shot by Corinne Day ; Kate Moss in 1992 for The Face magazine shot by Tony Briggs.

…these were in 2002, 10 years later….

From left to right : Kate Moss for i-D Magazine in 2002 shot by Craig McDean ; Kate Moss for Vogue in 2002 shot by Corinne Day ; Kate Moss for GQ UK in 2002 shot by Mario Testino

…and these were another 9/10 years later, in 2011/2012.

From left to right : Kate Moss by Sonia Sieff for Fred Jewellery 2011/2012 ; Kate Moss for Louis Vuitton at Paris Fashion Week SS12

Kate Moss is unique, unconventional, beautiful, versatile as a model and iconic as part of the 20th and 21st century. She’s a model, of course, not Louis Pasteur, so I have this in perspective, but nonetheless, she shared my teen years with me, and for that reason, I have a huge soft spot for her. For me, despite her huge success, Giselle will never have the same status, purely for the fact that she wasn’t modeling in the grunge years. Yeah, I said grunge.

The image which I saw a couple of weeks ago which stuck me with awe, was image below, shot again, by Corinne Day, who was a revolutionary raw and unconventional phototgrapher who tragically passed away in 2010. In my opinion, some of the best photography of Kate Moss was taken of Corinne Day. If you’d like to read more about her, take a look at this link to an article about her in The Guardian.

One thought on “Twenty Years of Kate Moss

Leave a Comment

