Spring Summer Trends :: Pastels & Colour Blocking

There are so many amazing trends due to hit our shops soon for Spring Summer 12…lace, prints, track and field, florals…they come back time and time again, but each time, just get a little bit better. Seeing as though there are so many trends that I’m liking, I thought I would show you some of my favourites from each trend. So this post, is dedicated to pastels and colour blocking. 

We all know what pastels are. They’re those marmite colours. Not brown, but love or hate. I used to hate. I have dark hair and olive skin, so brighter colours are usually the palette I turn to. However, I am loving the way pastels have been presented this year, on their own, or embracing the other colour-blocking trend.

The outfit to start me spinning into a pastel frenzy when I first saw it, was this one.

Phillip Lim 3.1 SS12 via Style.com

The colours, the fabrics, the simplicity of the colour blocking all make me happy. This outfit is so simple, which makes it so easy to re-create, but carefully. The key to this look is the fabric. Without the flowing soft fabrics, it wouldn’t be the same. 

From left to right : Prada SS12, Phillip Lim 3.1 SS12, David Koma SS12, Jonathan Saunders SS12 (images via Style.com)

From left to right : Victoria by Victoria Beckham SS12, Jaeger London SS12, Givenchy SS12 (images via Style.com)

The colour blocking works so well with pastel colours, but also just as well, with black.  The Jaeger dress above shows how it works just as effectively, but takes the prettiness out of the look, which may work for people who aren’t inclined to wear girlie pastels.

Streetstyle pastel colour blocking (images via Pinterest)

Emma Watson, looking incredible in very short shorts and feminine, yet edgy pastels.

Image from Elle Magazine via Image Couture Lab

Jessica Stein of Tuula Vintage

Top row from left to right : Gucci Layered color-block silk dress £1,130 ; Derek Lam Two-tone silk-crepe blouse £550Vanessa Bruno Athe Swiss-dot silk skirt £215

Bottom row from left to right : Reed Krakoff Kit leather and python shoulder bag £2,125Brian Atwood Claudia embroidered suede pumps £1540 ; Marc By Marc Jacobs Bob’s Memphis two-tone leather tote £440 (all images via Net-A-Porter)

Once the new stock reaches our shops, I will definitely be investing in some key pieces so I can represent this trend. The more I write about it, the more I look at images of these beautiful shades of corals and lilacs (which, for the record, I would normally never ever wear, but together with coral and cream work so well), the more I swoon…..

2 thoughts on “Spring Summer Trends :: Pastels & Colour Blocking

Leave a Comment

