What I Have Learnt via InStyle

Whilst flicking through October’s InStyle last night, I came across a page of tips on how to dress, based on Eilidh MacAskills experience and thought it was so useful, I’d share it with you! Here are some of her style commandments….

KILLER ACCESSORIES WORK AT ANY AGE

My first memorable one was an orange furry pencil case. Adored it. Devastated when it was stolen at primary school – I still recall the grief. It was probably worse than having my car stolen a few years back. Tip – keep your favourite accessories closer than your enemies.

NOT EVERYONE CAN CARRY OFF A BROGUE

I felt like a butch stand-up comic and while there is nothing at all wrong with that, it wasn’t the vibe I was striving for.

NEVER GET A HAIRCUT ON IMPULSE

It can result in a subtle form of self-abuse. And certainly not when you are hormonal or have just been around particuarly glamourous people. And when friends suggest getting haircuts you KNOW won’t work for them – warn them off beforehand, but do keep it zipped if they ignore your advice.

IT’S OKAY TO LET SOME TRENDS COMPLETELY PASS YOU BY

For example, I still haven’t worn a pleated chiffon midi skirt. And I don’t expect to. I just know it wouldn’t be my friend. True, I learnt this young when receiving the frequent hand-me-downs from my incredibly glamourous old family friend Michelle Thompson. Her purple velvet bell-bottoms with blue piping and a very small waist did me no favours whatsoever.

BE CAREFUL THAT YOU DON’T STYLE-STALK BY OSMOSIS

I can be a bit guilty of this – especially in my job. I casually note a colour or a piece someone is wearing and then, when I am next rooting around my stuff, I’ll remember that I have something similar. Do this too often and you’ll get a bit of a reputation. And not a nice one.

DON’T WEAR NEW PIECES AROUND YOUR KIDS

Comforting your child after a fall in the park while screaming ‘Don’t touch the jumper, it’s new’ isn’t a good look, as I discovered recently. It didn’t win me mother of the year and it encouraged my son to rub his sticky hands over my Sixties-style Cacharel – just to see what the fuss was about.

Still not sure brogues and skinnies suit me but I’m working on it.

Leave a Comment

