The Capsule Wardrobe : Chapter 2 – Skirts

First it was shoes, and on our journey upwards of identifying the capsule wardrobe, the next chapter is skirts. I initially thought I would write this post about skirts, trousers and shorts, but again, there are too many, which is why I’ve broken it down. 

This selection of skirts, for me, makes up the perfect basis of skirts for the capsule collection. A denim skirt is ultra-casual but can be dressed up, believe it or not. Choose a floral blouse or spotty shirt, or dress it down with a grey marl t-shirt, or a slubby cream pullover and flat tan sandals. The black skirt is perfect for smart occasions, paired up with a pussy-bow blouse and waistcoat or white t-shirt, black tuxedo and . We all need a dressy skirt – these lace versions are so pretty, so summery and again, can be dressed up or down. A white t-shirt would look so laid back with the lace and tulle and dressed down even more with the Tory Burch Leopard Print Pumps, perfect for a garden party or a summery evening of Pimms. Or dress it up with a sheer black shirt and the Jimmy Choo sparkly heels, ideal for winter wedding with black opaque tights or a spring birthday gathering. Although it looks dressy, its still very versatile and so feminine. Definitely one for the capsule. And of course, we can’t forget the pencil skirt. For a casual Parisian look, a t-shirt and ballet pumps will always work beautifully and for a meeting, the Miu Miu black kitten heels, a crimson ruffle neck blouse or sheer leopard print blouse would suit the occasion to a tee. 

I have to say how hard it is not to show you everything I find, and mostly unrelated to this post. There are truly so many beautiful clothes around right now, it’s making my job very difficult. Maybe I’ll save them for later instead. 

Like the last post, I’ve put together high-street and designer versions of the skirts for all occasions, and actually, they’re very close in the way they look. So, see what you think and feel free to drop me a line to let me know your thoughts. I’d love to know.

From left to right : Junya Watanabe Denim Skirt £454.17 ; Chloe Button-detailed wool-crepe skirt £637.50 ; Valentino Cotton-blend broderie anglaise and linen skirt £970.83 ; Burberry Leather-trimmed stretch-jersey pencil skirt £291.67 All skirts shown here are from Net-A-Porter.

From left to right : NW3 Flare Denim Skirt £79 from John Lewis ; Invert Pleat Flippy Skirt £32 from Topshop ; Embroidered Tulle Skirt £39.99 from Zara ; Combined Seam Skirt £25.99 from Zara

2 thoughts on “The Capsule Wardrobe : Chapter 2 – Skirts

    • I almost put a red maxi in, then decided against it because, well, I’m not sure why now! But I think I will now. Thank you for commenting, I really appreciate it!

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,748 other followers

